R.I.P. Ray Gauthier

Dear Governor Patrick,

Let me introduce myself to you. I am Carmen Gauthier, a "Highest Honors" graduate with a bachelor's degree in social services. I am a ten year veteran of the Texas Department of Children's Protective Services. I have never been arrested nor incarcerated in my life. Though I am a practicing pagan, I believe in and strive daily to practice the Christians' "Golden Rule." I am also the wife of the late Raymond Gauthier, con number W45176.

As the family member of an MA DOC inmate, I am confused as to why I was not issued a con number. Obviously this was an oversight by Commissioner Harold Clarke, for certainly, during my entire relationship with MDOC, I was treated by MDOC personnel — from Assistant Deputy Commissioner Paul DiPaolo through Superintendent James Saba, all the way down to the Correctional Officer guarding my husband's dead body (so as to protect the public from him) — as if I were in fact a convicted criminal.

Ah! I am corrected! I see from the press releases that you and MA DOC are indeed industriously working toward that very goal with your Proposed Visitor Procedures and Attorney Access proposals.

Governor Patrick, in all seriousness, what happened? I remember the day you were elected as Governor of the Commonwealth. There was so much happiness and so much hope for a better future for the lowliest of your citizens: the inmates of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. You sir, a person of color, who had to have experienced a least some of the ignorant bigotry of prejudice; you sir, who not only was the first in your family to attend college, but attended Harvard. Harvard! You sir, who served as a law clerk with the NAACP and became the Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights. You were my hope and my husband's hope, as well as that of all the family and friends and inmates who suffered unjustly the cruelties and whims of MA DOC employees.